more raw food stories…

6 Aug

This morning I was up by 5 am, (un)dressed in my fluffy dressing gown, thick socks and then wrapped up in my green cuddly blanket. (It is winter, there is snow on the hills). By 5.10 I was meditating. The meditation felt okay, I managed fifteen minutes quite calmly. I am getting better at pulling my mind back from the brink of thinking . My head is a noisy space. It gravitates quite readily to rubbish-chatter. Mind junk.

After I had finished the meditation, I was on the computer for 30 minutes, doing ‘catch up’ stuff. ‘Tis a great time to do it, all in the house are generally sleeping. 

Then…I began shaping the bread that I had prep’d the evening before. I had let it rise overnight and It was amazing, filling the entire huge bowl. I had doubled the recipe, to 1kilo of flour with 20 grams of fresh yeast. Yes! so it really was huge. I should have risen it slowly in the fridge, but I had thought the winter house would be cool enough to slow the process down. From the dough I made twelve  man-sized fougasse.

The kids crept out by 7, in varying degrees of disarray. I think the hot bread smell bought them out-I didnt need to convince them to leave their warm beds. By the time Deane had dragged himself out, I was onto my second coffee and they were happily munching the hot bread. I was enjoying watching them eat my creation (to sound slightly arrogant?).

My raw food ‘diet’, went well. (Lets not mention coffee. I will deal with that another time). I chopped up two bananana’s with one pear, practically snorted it up. I must learn to slow down to eat.

 My family went their ways to school and work, while I put things away, washed dishes and all that other stuff which is considered neither school nor, work.

I dressed Princess Paloma and we headed out the door to my gym/her creche. The balance class was great. Tai chi, yoga and pilates really do it for me!. ‘V’ is quite good, injects a bit of humor into it. He was doing the darth vader, “I am your father..” voice to one of the music tracks. Bit of a laugh really.

After finishing, I met the two ‘J’s’ at Cubita. I downed a chi soy latte, which tasted ‘funny’, once again. I am beginning to think maybe its me that is changing and not the actual drink.hmmm. I only had 20 minutes with them till I had to get Paloma. She greeted me with open arms and a big smile as usual. She definately is not well, crusty nose, and bad mood. (Little kids seem to fall into illness really quickly). I took her home and she made her famous nutella sandwhich,ate bits of it, then trotted off to bed.

I, being pretty hungry, felt like bread, bread bread. But.. I didnt. I wanted to eat it smothered in chocolate, maybe melted cheese toasties or some other ghastly fat/over-tasty creation. However-I did not succumb. Hows that!. Instead, I had a fruit salad and some raisins. That held the hunger off for about one hour. Then, the food subject rose to the top of my mind so I thought that I had better get inventive (or I would be face first in the bread drawer).  I grated three carrots, a small beet. I put them together in a bowl in which I ripped up fresh spinach, threw in a handful of raisins. I made a dressing of cider vinegar, beautiful Olive oil, grated ginger, garlic, a touch of salt and unrefined molasses sugar. With a final wee drop of organic sesame oil the dressing was ready to go. It was a very very scrummy meal. I have left some in the fridge for the children. 

So, I am feeling a bit ‘pure’ and healthy.

However, it is not yet four pm.

Leave a Reply

