skin off, hens night…cluck!

20 Sep

Well I experienced a ‘chemical face peel’. What can I say about it except;

  • It was hot!
  • It got hotter
  • wine does not cool face down

In my quest for ‘the best I can be’, I booked myself into the clinic and had it done. It only took about 25Min’s. The woman gave me a fan to hold – she said it would help. I thought she was being a bit dramatic. (It turned out she wasn’t. The fan did help).  Its a pretty barbaric experience-a chemical face peel. I settled on a ‘nice’ bed that  colour co-ordinated with the surrounding walls and a solo painting. The clinician protects her hands by smoothing  on bright turquoise rubber gloves. She rubs a gauze pad covered with the alcohol based chemical on my face. I thought it was barbaric in the way that the setting is superficially genteel, objective, nearly clinical, but then you know; a layer of my skin was peeled away-just because I want to look better.  Yay. Fun!. I paid her and left. I got home afterwards and the kids told me I had a shiny face. Then, Leanne picked me up for my hens night.

I was met at Vesper bar with a few friends and Deb, (sis). Deb chose a good wine, (oyster bay sav blanc) she’s good like that. And, I actually enjoyed it. I’m a bit of a wine dummy – I’m not really interested in it -it’s usually a waste of time to open a bottle for me because I don’t drink due to training. Running and drinking do not work for me. However, this night was special. My one and only hens night. After my first glass of oyster bay, my face turned really red. I mean double red. (The clinician had warned me about the effect of a glass of wine on a newly peeled face.)  We had quite a laugh and then moved on to a Japanese restaurant where all together there were about thirty friends. They, being close friends, once they knew about the ‘face’ came up with reasons why the red could look natural. Some of the reasons being;

  • menopausal hot flush
  • skiing with no sunscreen
  • wine
  • hard out dancing
  • excitement
  • returned from Fiji holiday last night
  • blushing bride

It was all very funny. The food was great but the company was fantastic and I felt/feel very blessed to have such lovely strong women in my life. (Thankyou so much friends!)

2 Responses to “skin off, hens night…cluck!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Funny Blog » Blog Archive » skin off, hens night…cluck! - September 20, 2008

    […] catherinedrew wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptb…/b returned from Fiji holiday last night; blushing bride. It was all bvery funny/b. The food was great but the company was fantastic and I felt/feel bvery/b blessed to have such lovely strong women in my life. (Thankyou so much friends!) […]

  2. Alcohol Posts » skin off, hens night…cluck! - September 21, 2008

    […] catherinedrew wrote a fantastic post today on “skin off, hens nightâ¦cluck!”Here’s ONLY a quick extractDeb chose a good wine, (oyster bay sav blanc) she’s good like that. And, I actually enjoyed it. I’ma bit of a wine dummy – I’m not really interested in it -it’s usually a waste of time to open a bottle for me because I don’t drink due … […]

Leave a Reply

