Cabbage is the New Black!

3 Nov

“Watch your thoughts, for they become words.
Watch your words, for they become actions.
Watch your actions, for they become habits.
Watch your habits, for they become character.
Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.”
–    Frank Outlaw

What a great quote! Mind/soul food! Now-to the cabbage! I have been offering friends cabbage juice with evangelical pronouncements as to its benefits.  Deane is my favourite case study-the true sceptic! However; the worm is turning. He has noticed a definate  improvement with his physical health since beginning his juices. His heart burn has gone. (He has suffered with heartburn for a long while, taking medication for it..). The disappearance of the heartburn, we put down to;

  • anti-inflammatory qualities of the cabbage
  • eating less because he is getting enough nutrients, doesn’t feel the need to overeat.
  • loss of weight

What ever the reason is, the outcome is great!. Another of my ‘subjects’, we will…ahem..henceforth call ‘subject A’, reported to me via email, that she felt like ‘crap’ the morning after her cabbaging, but she put this down to the three glasses of wine she consumed after the juice, and some sort of junk food she also had. However, she wants to buy an Oscar juicer, believing in the power of the juice anyhow, er..and noticing how easy it was to clean.   My Sister subject has not been over for about one week, so will need to be cabbaged accordingly when she eventually appears. As for me, I am feeling a bit tired! I also am disappointed that I have picked up a slight cold, its not much of a cold, running nose, sneezing, headache. I still managed a 25 minute run last night. Maybe I am detoxing a bit? Yesterday, I drank a green juice in the morning, snacked on avocado mixed with sprouted alfalfa, sesame oil, raw cider vinegar and salt. Dinner for me was about 2 Tablespoons of vegan bolognaise sauce, with a huge plate of slaw. Very yummy. Returning from my run, I made a cabbage, apple and ginger juice for Deane and I.  I have found this great site http://www.giveittomeraw.com  Have a look at it for advice re raw food, and juices etc. Raw food, and the juicing I am doing is feeling good for me!, and this is what the raw food ‘movement’ is about really. Eat what ever you want but be concious as to why you are eating what ever it is, also-be aware of how a certain food makes you feel. I guess raw fooding is about conscious eating.

2 Responses to “Cabbage is the New Black!”

  1. Kristen's Raw November 5, 2008 at 5:47 am #

    I love cabbage juice. It’s so powerful!!! I also love broccoli juice! (I make both with either carrots or apples to give a little sweetness.)

    Cheers,
    Kristen

  2. catherinedrew November 6, 2008 at 1:58 am #

    Hi Kristan..Thanks. i havnt tried broccoli yet..but will. Today i juiced parsnip with carrot, apple, parsley and a bit of silverbeet from my garden…(she says proudly).It was actually very nice, quite sweet obviously.
    By the way, I like your site..very cool!

Leave a Reply

