a good day

19 Nov

 

the rose in paradise

the rose in paradise

My day began with me going to bed, earplugs in, at 9.30 last night. Therefore, I woke before the alarm at 5 a.m today.  I lay in bed for a while, not really wanting to get out, actually, I was feeling pretty..blahhhh. So what did I do?! Well…I leaped out of bed like a fit young thing, I flung on my running gear like..er..Deane Karnazes..I ran out the door like one eager beaver…

I find if I act like I want to be, then I do what I want to do…well, it worked this morning.

So I ran my 30 minute circuit. Once home, I sat and meditated for about 10 minutes. It was a serious meditation session, I kept clearing my mind, but Nia Glassie was in my head. I don’t know why, I guess she has been on the news for a while. She was hard to clear.

I then made Deane and I a coffee…followed by a juice of apple carrot and spinach. I had a banana for breakfast. The kids were ‘yelled’ up. Here’s how breakfast goes for the kids.  Izzy has her standard 6 weetbix drowned in boiled water and coated in a tablespoon of raw sugar. Paloma has a sleepy raw oats with milk and sugar. She follows this by eating whatever Deane happens to be having. (Paloma is Deane’s ‘food sidekick’. She eats whatever is on his plate, actually fights him for it. ) Drew makes herself toast, or a fried egg on toast or french toast. She has a cup of tea with god knows how much sugar in it. Rose has water based weetbix, but she only has two.  Harry has toast and muesli with milk and sugar. Writing this I realise our family has far too much sugar.

 Once the kids had gone to school, Paloma and I went downstairs. I have decided to walk to the gym rather than taking the car,( a decision based on my ‘slow food, slow life=quality – theory). I have borrowed a pushchair, which Paloma loves. It took me about 50 sweaty minutes to trudge to the gym. I put Paloma in creche and rushed to my ‘balance’ class. I slowed myself down to reap the benefits of the tai chi, Pilate’s, and yoga moves.

After; a friend gave us a lift home and I made  a juice of silverbeet (from my garden), organic apple, organic carrot, garlic and parsley. yummy lunch!

Tonight for tea, I cooked organic beef steak, baked potatoes, puy lentil and grated carrot salad, chickpea and sliced tomato salad, and sliced cucumber. I need to make more variety for the kids. The reason is this: last week, I went down to kiss the Rose goodnight. She seemed a bit angry with me and wouldn’t talk to me properly. After questioning her a tad, I found out that she is sick of going to bed ’empty’, (her words). I have been pretty hard line with the kids in that if they don’t eat what I provide for tea, they don’t get anything else. Rose is Miss Fussy. But, I now realise I must soften. Rose prefers to go hungry rather than eat anything she doesn’t like. So I will make more of a variety and include well…more meat, and potatoes. The Rose is a meat eater so I will cook meat.

I have just juiced green cabbage, apple, carrot, and garlic. Deane and I polished it off. I guess he will fart all night tonight…again. harry-and-3-girls-oct-7-08-033

Leave a Reply

