more on my tussock traverse training, raw nutrition, protein…

8 Dec

City-end Karori from Wrights Hill
Image via Wikipedia
miso,shitake, and sesame oil.
miso,shitake, and sesame oil.

I was feeling so lack luster, it was hard to get out of bed at 5.30 in the morning, (now here I am blogging at 3am…but thats another story) and was feeling a tad ‘blue’. So, after hearing good things about the ‘herbal guy’ in Hataitai villiage, I went to see him. After asking relevent questions, and doing my blood pressure, an iridology check, he said I have a ‘strong constitution. Yep. But lacking in B12, iron, and possibly do not eat enough. He said I probably am far more active than the average vegan and he gave me good advice on snacks to have, i.e a protein snack every two hours. Nuts are good, but no more than two brazil nuts, (something about selenium.)  Miso, with sesame oil and herbs is also a very good snack.  For breakfast, I now have a ramekin full of raw oats, soaked in hot water with honey (not vegan..I know) and bee pollen (ditto) and calcuim powder. I chase this with a fresh vegetable  juice (thanks oscar). Its all very yummy and satisfying.

I bought B12, multi B’s, calcium powder, iron and a bottle of flax oil from him. He also made me up a beautiful ‘sleep’ tea and advised me to eat a handful of pumpkin seeds before bed. They are full of tryptophan, (like potatoes and lettuce) so should help induce sleep. 

Two weeks later and I am definitely more ‘zippy’. The protein snacks during the day really help with a consistent energy supply thus I do not have the ‘3pm slump’, so do not crave sweet things. However, my sleep is crap. For example, last night I was in bed about 10pm (I am trying really hard to be in bed early…) and I was asleep not long after that, but I woke, looked at the clock and it only read a disappointing onea.m! I try to be calm. But I  am too annoyed to be calm. So I get up, and lie on the couch. In the end, (the end did not take too long) I couldn’t settle and finally got up, made my ‘sleep’ tea and here I am. This happens nearly every night. The night before last I was distinctly worrying if lack of sleep could kill me. ( I know it cant…it just makes me crabby.)
It is an ongoing saga. Sleep.
As for my tussock traverse ‘training’, I have been running more and with more focus. The longest run however has only been 90 minutes. But my runs are feeling better. Two or three times per week I have been walking into the city, pushing Paloma which takes about 50 minutes each way. I  put her in the gym creche for two hours. I then do a weights work out  (one hour) followed by a run averaging 40 minutes. Then we walk home which is up hill. I have tweaked my weights work out, but I think shortly I will employ a personal trainer to help with the whole programme.( Whilst training for the C2c, I used a personal trainer to give me a plan once every 6 weeks.)
My family life does get in the way of my focus…I feel guilty if I go for a run, or the gym-on the weekend. My family comes first, on the other hand so do I??? Yes I know. It is a conundrum. (Nice word, con-nun-drum…) 
On Sunday, after returning from the morning market, I was actually hanging out to go for a run around the Karori sanctuary.  While in theory, I could have, I felt like I couldnt leave the family. I wanted to but didnt want to…if you know what I mean! I dont like the idea of the kids on playstation, p.c, …errrr..anything to do with them ‘sitting around’ , especially on such a glorious day as Sunday was. So, my solution to the complex (in my head) issue was to  suggest we all go and walk the sanctuary. After much grumbling and poo faces, we arrived at the sanctuary and walked around….( I say ‘walked’ but it was more a meander..)  it took us about four hours going at the three year olds pace. It was a tough walk, the sun was relentless as were the hills. It was good for the kids and I had Paloma on my shoulders for the last 4-5 K, (sharing with Deanes shoulders), so it was a good work out.
But doing this sort of thing, while good for the family, for me is not a training strategy. I need to work it all out so as to give them what (i think) they need, spend quality time with them and my husband whilst making time for me to train with the focus needed. I dont want this to mean that I am the one that has to be out of bed at four in the morning so I can train with out disturbing family time. Maybe I need to do a bit of ‘disturbing’?
*top of page image: city end karori..
One Response to “more on my tussock traverse training, raw nutrition, protein…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. more on my tussock traverse training, raw nutrition, protein … - December 9, 2008

    […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptmore on my tussock traverse training, raw nutrition, protein… December 8, 2008. City-end Karori from Wrights Hill: Image via Wikipedia. miso,shitake, and sesame oil. miso,shitake, and sesame oil. I was feeling so lack luster, … […]

Leave a Reply

