Running Mt Victoria, using Vitamin B12

20 Dec

View of the city from lower Mount Victoria. We...
Image by Gouldy99via Flickr

After whinging about not running in my last post, I actually went for a good (enough) run yesterday. After the kids went to school, (for their last day for the year http://cenglish-memento.blogspot.com ), the pre -arranged babysitter arrived to play with Paloma, and Deane and I took off around the tracks of Mt. Victoria. D had not been out running at all for quite a while, so all though we were out for an hour and a half, we did not cover a huge amount of ground. It felt gooooood! I really enjoy running in early summer, the per-fumy scents of certain flowers as we pass, the earthiness of the trees and tracks wafting up…deliciousness! Okay. A good run and it was damn good to be out…not just ‘trudging’.

Being School hols, it will be more difficult for me to get to the gym to do my vital weights work outs. I have to re plan my plan…ha!

I have been drinking carrot juice mixed with a smaller serve of cabbage. I have stopped adding garlic to my juice’s as I read garlic is not that good to drink. One of the side effects are headaches, which I do suffer from. So I am waiting to see(feel) what will happen if anything. My aim with my raw food quest, is to feel the best I can. I will try nearly anything, (after a bit of research).

I am slowly planning my racing..err… okay…participation schedule… for 2009. As usual I want to do absolutely everything, but so far, I will do the tussock traverse in January,  Mt Lowry in March, I would like to do Lyford in April..but who knows…it all gets difficult when there are five children involved. I will definitely to the Capital half. I would like to attempt my first whole marathon later in the year…I am chewing over Sydney or Melbourne. After reading the blog posts from the fabulous women here: http://nztrichicks.ning.com/ , I actually want to do a half iron man. I will talk about this further but the chica’s over at nz tri chicks have really got me wanting to do it. Watch this proverbial space.

I am really kicking the coffee habit in the butt..now I am averaging only one coffee per day. I put this down to mega nutrients in the juice, and enough vitamin B12. I have read that taking B12 helps one when trying to get off caffeine. The extra iron and ‘B’s’ and calcium I am taking is definitely improving my life, the visit to ‘herb’ guy was well worth it.

Today, the first day of the School hols, is raining and windy. They are all still in bed and they can stay for as long as they wish! I will go for a run today. I will do weights twice per week and one balance class during these holidays, (she says determinedly…yet with a tinge of disbelief..).

Leave a Reply

