I love Jon Ackland…I love Mt.Vic trails.

24 Dec

Mt Vic trail

Mt Vic trail

I am reading this fantastic book by JON ACKLAND. Its called Personal BEST, secrets to success in sport from beginners to winners. I have followed his half marathon training plan, a few years ago from another of his  books on specifically half marathon training. I like the fact that he is a New Zealander, so apart from writing everything in the context of KILOMETER’S, he writes pertaining to training for great NZ races. The blurb goes, in the  personal best book, (It is one of his older books, published in 2000)…’the book is divided into six parts that mark the steps towards limitless performance:thinking and goal setting, planning a training progression, training and recovery, racing and competing, improving performance, and applying the lessons of sport to life…’

The book does all that. I have so many pages bookmarked with bright blue sticky notes. He writes in an easy to understand style. I am currently working out a personal plan for my next ‘gig’, using his guidelines. Who needs a personal trainer huh? A thing that has been highlighted to me is that, it is going to take years of training to  become competent or rather, confident and relatively comfortable during training and events.  I am in to the ‘slow movement’ so it reverberates well with me. (All good things take time. Enjoy the journey. It’s the journey not the destination. Ecetera.)

Another thing regarding to training for any event, it is the details that are all important. That is, practice the nuances of the event…if mountain racing, train on mountain trails, then if possible, get to know the race trail. Become it’s friend. If triathlon-ing, of course transitions are all important, but also after conquering swim technique, practice sea swimming, then swim with other people. Ecetera. All this stuff is a no-brainer*, (…I hate that term, but here I am using it…no brainer..ugggh!), but it is so helpful to read it and apply it.  My disaster experience on the Waimakarere river underlines the fact of practice, practice, practice in the context of the race. (I learnt the hard way, conversing head to head with a river bed.)

So! How has my training been going, I hear you the avid reader ask?

errr…since I last spoke with you, I did the 1.5 hour run with Deane over the Mt. Victoria trails, then nothing but a 2.5 hour walk with the kids over the same trails. On Monday, I was up and out the door at 5.15 on a beautiful, still morning. I ran 45 minutes, easy, listening to a motivational talk on my ipod. It is now Wednesday, Christmas eve, and I am planning a run today. It is raining and the kids are watching the dumb box. Deane is working and will finish early so if he is home by four, I will go out then. That is the plan.

Leave a Reply

