Am I ready to run the 27k tussock traverse?…ummmm….

5 Jan

Kaitoke Regional Park
Image by kalavinka via Flickr

Well! Christmas really stuffs my routine up..and the holidays that follow! So how did I do over the ‘break’?

Christmas day was a restrained(ish) day for me nutritionally. I had a slither of New Yorkcheesecake…just a slither. I made the cheesecake, courtesy of my friend Nigella, therefore I knew exactly what I was eating..(yes, wonderfully flavoured fat). I interspersed this with fruit in the form of french champagne. Needless to say, there was no exercise forthcoming.

Come boxing day and I was out running for a restrained 45 minutes through the hills of my favourite Mt. Victoria. The day after boxing day and I did a good mountain run for 70 minutes. Then for two more days I did  my ‘un sleep’ thing, which tends to make me hungry, grumpy and uninspired. I did not run but the kids and I walked to the beach everyday. 

The two days before New-Years day saw me completing short road runs, 30mins and 40 mins respectively. I was actually just happy to make it out of the house. I find it hard to focus while life is a bit ‘unfocused’, i.e, the kids are home, sparkly decorations are up, consumerism runs high, air of expectancy permeates, town is relatively empty…I don’t like it. I have analyzed why I don’t like this lack of routine and have concluded that it is because it tramples on my carefully constructed use of time. I need my time to create my own space, where I can look after myself. It all happens fore-mostly in my head…I need the routine to have a clear head, so I can get things done. Of course, we all know that time is time and I can get things done anyway. Time is the same whether my wee head feels clear or not. Right?

I had more fruit in the form of champagne, and wine on our quiet New Years eve and of course NO  tussock traverse training. Then to top the ummm…err..’training’ off, we went camping.  Kaitoke of course is a regional park in the Wellington area, which is chockablock full of wonderful mountain runs. But…I just couldn’t do them, reasons being, I did not want to run mountains by myself, (axe murderers etc..) and I did not want to leave the kids alone in the camp ground.  I was growing steadily more anxious regarding running. I do not think this is a good thing, the kids were enjoying themselves and I should have been able to chill out and relax a bit.

We came home after being rained out after three days. I did a good Mt Vic run for 80 minutes and felt ‘normal’ again.

So, at this stage, while I know I could complete the traverse, I don’t think I would enjoy it very much. I have got a few weeks left where I will pound the hills around Wellington, (that is the plan anyhoo..).  Watch this space!

 

3 Responses to “Am I ready to run the 27k tussock traverse?…ummmm….”

  1. Rachel Harris January 5, 2009 at 12:09 pm #

    Oh I’m with you – lack of routine throws me completely and upsets everything that is normally so well thought out in my wee brain.

    Grumble, grumble… Nigella is a… er… slapper. I thought only men watched her and appreciated her ‘cooking’ prowess, and how her jugs poureth over. 😉

    • catherinedrew January 5, 2009 at 12:29 pm #

      hey… I really do love Nigella, love the way she eats, she is such a pig!..a passionate pig…knows her stuff, writes fantastically…looks great too..(what jugs?, Ive only ever seen her pouring from bottles…)

  2. Rachel Harris January 5, 2009 at 1:01 pm #

    Ha ha, I sometimes wonder if she realises she’s still being filmed, the way she has her chocolate feeding frenzies. I’ve never seen anyone shovel so much food into their mouth at one time! She is very gorgeous though. I just get a bit miffed when the two boys in my house (ages 39 and 7) come running into the lounge whenever the Twinings ad is on the telly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

