Food as a love note from God…

18 Jan

No..I am  not into organised religion, but according to a book I am reading at the moment, ‘Conscious Eating’(Gabriel Cousens,M.D.), I have to begin looking at my food as a ‘love note from God’. It’s quite a nice idea actually. I drank my carrot,beet, spinach juice this morning with a grateful, thankful heart. It must be doing me extra good. I mean, every extra bit of good, helps does it not? Unfortunately,I had forgotten the ‘love note from God’ thing while I was eating my raw oats with soy milk, almonds and a scattering of raisins. I therefore ate them a bit too fast and ungratefully so did not squeeze all potential goodness from them. I have not finished reading this rather huge book, yet it resonates with me. With regards to conscious eating, the three essential questions to remember are;  Am I emotionally stable after eating?  Do I have increased physical energy after eating? and, am I craving any food?

It is a matter of being your own scientist, experimenting and becoming aware of why you eat, what you eat,and how it makes you feel.

Coffee still makes me feel good, yet it apparently is not a good thing. I wont even try to curb my coffee habit-I max out at only two a day. That is nothing to fret about in my book. So my food thing for the week has been okay, far too much cooked food, but okay. Being vegan suits my body, I feel more ‘head clear’ for being so. I do have honey and bee pollen, so, gosh…I am a naughty vegan..a vegan on the line!! I believe I  must eat to feel good, not to somebody elses prescribed idea of ‘shoulds’. I also know that when I am next offered a fresh paua, on the beach, cooked as is..I wont say no. Paua makes me feel goood. (Thanks….God.)

I have done my long run around the hills of Mt Victoria. We ran for 2hours, 20 minutes. I could have done more. There were plenty of mountain bikers out practicing for the championships which are on today.  I will do a few smaller runs, but really want fresh legs for the traverse on Saturday.

One Response to “Food as a love note from God…”

  1. Becs January 18, 2009 at 5:32 pm #

    Interesting stuff….I can’t let go of my morning coffee either, although I am not so sure it makes me ‘feel good’ 🙂 I think it’s just become a habit now! 2hr20 running….awesome stuff 🙂 Windy Welly today again huh!

Leave a Reply

