the slump…and forward!

2 Feb

paloma, Izzy and Rose after athletics
paloma, Izzy and Rose after athletics

The kids did athletics on Saturday, it must have been 27 degrees. They were running around, doing athletics stuff, while I sat in the shaded stands of Newtown Athletic park, and sipped my soy flatwhite. Drew, the twelve year old sat by me, reading. She has decided she is not an athlete and….I can’t make her! (She is correct, I can’t make her be an ‘athlete’..)

Paloma the three year old, wandered up and down the stairs, drank a lot of water and attempted to take her clothes off.
Rose, Izzy and Harry finished athletics and fell around on the cool concrete floor of the grandstand.
….And that folks, is the extent of my ‘training’ for the week! Proud of me?
Now, why have I not tied the laces of my running shoes up? Here are  my reasons excuse’s for not running:
  • My toes have been too sore to wear shoes, the toenails have been inflamed. Six are now black and will fall off. The worst is over.
  • I have a ..(close your eyes if squirmish..) a coldsore, which has made the entire inside of my mouth very tender, therefore I have had trouble ‘refueling’. The worst is over.
  • My brain has been errrr, flat and dazed.

I think this is the aftermath of the ‘worst run in the world’, but I am surprised my body reacted to a relatively smallish run the way it did. I think it was the  heat. It did not affect Deane badly. He felt really good for the week following, whereas I felt sick, dazed and confused. Anyhoo, the kids are starting to return to school this week, the highschooler starts today, the primary schoolers begin tomorow and the intermediate on Wednesday. Then I can organise my life in my wee head, get back to the gym.

Thats it people. Wish me luck.

4 Responses to “the slump…and forward!”

  1. Becs February 2, 2009 at 8:39 am #

    Funny isn’t it..how different events affect us. The traverse certainly sounded hot that’s for sure…be kind to yourself, your body will be back in full force once it’s rested 🙂

    Yeh Saturday was a stunner of a day huh! So warm….Oriental Parade was jam packed with people that day!

    Oh…good luck 🙂

  2. catherinedrew February 3, 2009 at 5:21 am #

    Thanks for that…this morning I was up at 5.50 to go for a wee run, and here I am..on the computer half an hour later…I remembered your words bout being kind to myself…hmmmmm

  3. Rachel Harris February 3, 2009 at 10:59 am #

    It looks as though Paloma didn’t just try to take her clothes off, she almost achieved! How cute are they (they didn’t fall down there did they? They have an almost “splat” look about them).

  4. catherinedrew February 3, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    yes..they did actually splat..utter exhaustion sort of collapse…Very funny..and yes very cute..even the rabbit was laid out..

Leave a Reply

