Mt Lowry ‘race’ report….ahem…

23 Feb

..didn't take long...

..didn't take long...

I had forgotten how rugged the Mt Lowry race crawl is. The three k run on the flat road is okay…if you like running single file with a ‘Mr Police man’ drawling “get off the road” behind you. (Seriously, I do appreciate the Police, in fact my 9 year old, Rosie, aspires to be one. Her lovely face lights up every time she spots the uniform. I wish she was with me the day I was pulled up for speeding,she could have spoken to him…and been even more inspired.)  After the flat seaward run, we herd over the main road in Eastbourne, and begin to climb. There is no respite for kilometers, and kilometers. Its all a climb. My legs were..quite frankly..just not up to it. They decided it would be better to walk/stalk up the hills and run the flats and downhills. But, just where had the flats and downhills gone? I found an old man to pace myself with, he was freakin’ slow on the up, and I would pass him. Then, once we discovered the downhill (teeny parts), he would scream past me, yelling something about chasing his lost youth.Hmmmm…ain’t we all. I finished in my slowest time yet, 1.53.16secs. I think this was due to my decision to pace my self with a fellow crawler on the up and up. This was my third attempt on the Mt Lowry. I will keep ‘running’ it till a break 1.30…..

5 Responses to “Mt Lowry ‘race’ report….ahem…”

  1. Justine February 23, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

    i’m sure thats my sock….they’re my boots….huh..thats me…

  2. catherinedrew February 23, 2009 at 8:46 pm #

    oh…yeah…about that…..actually, i havn’t a photo of me looking as errrr…relaxed…we look the same anyway..

  3. Justine February 28, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    this is getting strange watch my garden grow….

  4. Justine February 28, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    i’ve got a great photo of me soaking in an outside bath, if you’d like to use that…just say its you, no one will notice.

  5. catherinedrew February 28, 2009 at 4:58 pm #

    get over it michael….it was a year ago..(say with american accent..) see you nxt weekend…ready for that wee 10k with moi?

Leave a Reply

