tapering for the half, training for the full….

2 Apr

okay. Its the great forest half marathon on Saturday. I’m kinda looking forward to it. As my last post said, I had a 23k run to do last Sunday. I sort of did 23k, if 15 k is nearly 23 k. Which it isn’t. My reason for doing only 15k was that: I had to be home by 1 to get a few kids ready to go to another kids birthday by 2. So I was a tad anxious about the time, hence I read my garmin wrongly. I thought it said one pm, when in fact it was that I had been out for one hour.  But I had already done the ‘turn around’, oh so difficult to go back. Anyhoo, it was a good run around Shelley bay road…and back. I did not get run over. Not once. I say that because that particular Welly rd, is all corners, thin, with the sea on one side,  the hill on the other. There isn’t much leeway  for runners, let alone any poor sod on a bike. (I have biked it countless times too.) Actually,  a woman runner was deliberately run down on that road last year and killed. That of course, plays on my mind, sometimes louder than my ipod.

Following my ‘nearly 23k’ Sunday run, I did a weights session on Monday, a 40min road run on Tuesday. I had good intentions on Wednesday, except at the last minute, (around the dinner table) Drew gets a phone call asking her to go to the Duffy concert. (Yes, of course she went), and Deane had to work at the After hours. Drew was not going to get home till 11. And Deane not long after. No run for the mama. I know I should get my ass out of bed at 5 and run then. Nobody has anything unexpected in the morning. Slap me.

Today is Thursday and I know I cant wont run because I am going out for dinner tonight….I guess I could say this is a ‘planned taper’ for my half marathon on Saturday. In fact, here goes:” this is a planned taper for my half marathon on Saturday…which by the way, I aim to do in 1.52.”

I did however email Dave my trainer, who is himself doing the Auckland marathon. So I am starting training with him after the school holidays. I’m looking forward to the pressure.

2 Responses to “tapering for the half, training for the full….”

  1. Rachel Harris April 3, 2009 at 7:51 pm #

    Good luck for tomorrow!! Let us all know how you go, won’t you. Well, of course you will, you’re a blogger. 😉

  2. Sepexaria April 6, 2009 at 5:54 am #

    Great site this catherinedrew.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

