Great Forest half marathon…race report…. tadaa!

6 Apr

after race contemplation...well done Rose and Harry

after race contemplation...well done Rose and Harry

harry finishing his 10k
harry finishing his 10k
Rose finishing 10k...

Rose finishing 10k...

The morning of the Great Forest run was possibly 6 degrees. We had to leave the house by 6.30 a.m to get to register before cut off. So I was up at 5, drinking coffee and munching on raw muesli. Rose and Harry were coming with us to run the 10k section with Deane, so I booted them all out of bed by 5.45. Kids love early mornings, no whinging at all. Haha.

We arrived and registered and ran back to the car to escape the cold. Felt very wimpy. The half started at 9am with the 10 beginning at 10.30. I told the kids I would finish the half in time to run their race with them. I am always full of shitbravado before a race. Not so full after the fact though. And this race was a prime example. Tell ya what!..I felt pretty good for the first five ks, I was even thinking…’wow…this is gonna be a good one…I’m gonna beat my goal..probably get in by 1.45..’. And honestly-I felt like I was focusing on the run, (ie, not getting caught up daydreaming thus slowing down) and keeping up with the crowd…(I usually find myself running by myself in the middle of two packs. Weird huh? Smelly maybe?). The sun shone, barely a breath of wind, not too hot, nor cold. So when my legs turned to bricks at kilometer 18, I was surprised. However, I kept the bricks moving and still thought I would do okay. I ran through the finish in a time of 2.01, gutted! Last year I did this race in 1.55, the year before in 2.22.  So I am definitely not ready to do a full marathon. Bring on the training!. I watched my lovely children come in…Rose said she..’hated it’, and Harry thought it was okay, but very hard. Once they had chips and a bottle of  Foxton Fizz in hand, they started talking about when they ‘do it next year’. Love it!

I am trying not to be too neg about my time. As I (laughingly) said to Deane and the kids before the race, ..”lets face it, we’re not Olympians…” so, whats to be upset about? I will do better next year. My next half is the Wellington half on June 28. I will aim for 1.50. I  will be full of bravado again….I just know it. That’s what I love about running and me. I don’t give up. I think that one day, I will do an amazing time…I am full of hope. Damn lucky.

I’ve got legs.

Lucky.

8 Responses to “Great Forest half marathon…race report…. tadaa!”

  1. Rachel Harris April 7, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    Oh yippee! Your race report! Sounds to me like you felt pretty cruisy up until the 18km mark, and maybe that’s why you edged above the two hour mark – not so much that you weren’t capable of meeting your goal time, rather your subconcious had you running more conservatively than you could have. Bring on the Welly Half then! Another eight weeks of training, you’ll be smokin’!

    Great effort by Rose and Harry too!

  2. catherinedrew April 7, 2009 at 4:47 pm #

    gosh..u always say the most postive things…and yea! bring on another one..i’l be smokin hot…

  3. Jinny April 23, 2009 at 9:44 pm #

    Amazing! Not clear for me, how offen you updating your catherinedrew.wordpress.com.
    Thanks

  4. catherinedrew April 25, 2009 at 8:23 am #

    hi. I update about once per week.

  5. Nadine April 28, 2009 at 6:59 pm #

    Greatings, Ugh, I liked! So clear and positively.
    Thanks
    Nadine

  6. Elcoj May 1, 2009 at 3:53 am #

    Hi there,
    Can i get a one small picture from your site?

  7. catherinedrew May 1, 2009 at 8:29 am #

    hi Elcoj. What pic would u like and where is it gonna go? thanks for looking at my site!

  8. Marathon Effort June 6, 2009 at 6:39 am #

    Very well written post however, I would recommend that you turn the No Follow off in your comment section.

    Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

