I entered the Auckland marathon…(gulp)…oh and did a few runs in Nelson..

17 Apr

Deciding to go to Nelson on Wednesday morning, weI packed the kids and the car up on Thursday, picked Deane up from work that eve, and waited in a queue while sailing was delayed as per the norm. An uneventful sailing followed by a slow drive had us arriving at Justine’s by about two in the wee hours. I felt like a run…but not really. Slept for a full five hours…and woke to a flippin’ cold day. The sun shone consistently for the entire time we were there. I love Nelson for that…I also love it for its peanut butter…I knowpeanut butter…and this Nelson peanut butter beats all of them including kia-ora peanut butter, (which was my fav till I met this Nelson one).

Anyhoo, J and I went for a  wee thirty minute run around the Nelson bays. She lives on a hill, so we ran down and around the sea front and up the hill again. It is similar to my short Welly run around the bays except…the lack of wind. It was nice to run upright. The day following that she took me for a very lovely (apart from the vicious cows) off road run. It began with a three k …up and up and up. It was achievable, not too taxing and we ran for 80minutes. She is still struggling with knee bollocks so we had to take it easy. ..

I have entered the Auckland Marathon. It will be my first marathon. I have ample time to train under the guidance of Dave, the personal trainer. He is doing Auckland as well so I will try and beat him…here I go with my bollocky bravado…yappy dog. Bring it on…

 

Justine and me after our 80minite run...

Justine and me after our 80minite run...

The best peanut butter in my world!

The best peanut butter in my world!

3 Responses to “I entered the Auckland marathon…(gulp)…oh and did a few runs in Nelson..”

  1. Charlie April 19, 2009 at 10:25 am #

    Hello,
    catherinedrew.wordpress.com – da best. Keep it going!

  2. Willie April 20, 2009 at 11:21 pm #

    Hey thanks for stopping by! Yes, I am real, real-stupid, real-insane sometimes, etc…

    Good luck with the marathon and the training. I love first time marathon stories so please be sure to share.

Leave a Reply

