I am such a success…I lost a gram….

20 May

I have been, errr…a tad distracted thus have been unblogged for TWO WHOLE WEEKS. I therefore do apologize to all my avid readers who are ‘champin’ at the bit’ to know how my marathon training is going!…(didnt know I was a horse chick did ya!)
My first week of training had me running my longest run, 17k, on the Wednesday,or so I thought. I dutifully was out the door by 5.15am. I ran it, enjoyed it, but it was a slow run…i was meant to be doing a 7k pace. I still get a bit confused about paces, i.e how the hell am I meant to know? I know 7k is slow. So I ran slowly…enjoying the still morning, the peace. It rained a bit but nothing too exciting…(after I was home, I found out there had been huge hailstorms in kilbirnie, leaving 5cm of hail…I missed the lot. God loves me?) After a while, I began worrying that I was going to be home too late to do the ‘nagging morning’ routine. I estimated that it must be nearly 7am, so I went home, only having completed 14k. My estimation was correct, I thumped in the door about 7.05am, welcomed by a dark silent house. Immediately I ran around every bed room, (my cool down, stretch session gone…)wakin’, shakin’ till they were all up. (They all have to be out the door by 8, you understand. I’m not really mean…)
I spent the morning ‘issed off with myself for not completing my long run, and angry with my family for not being self sufficient. During my balance class at Les Mills, when I had time to think during poses, I realised that Wednesday was not my long run day actually, and I was only meant to have done a 50 minute hill run, (‘..on moderate undulating hills, no big hills..’). Yay! I was not a failure after all. I was in fact, an over-achiever!
The next day I did my new weights routine. I chased this with a 50 minute run with slightly faster intervals in it. Saturday I was meant to do a long bike, but I did not. 120k an hour Gales in Wellington, in fact, the gales have broken everything on around our house they possibly could. Thats an excuse anyway, the real reason I did not do my bike is that biking is not my most favourite activity. It’s better than kayacking but that’s not saying much.
A good thing is that I did get my real long run in on Sunday. I did 17k at 7k pace…(i guess?) It felt like a big achievement!
The following week was terrible!.I only did two days of runs and one weights work out. My long run day was taken up with the youngest’s birthday party…(ten four year olds), and it just seemed to take all day…that’s my excuse anyway…which brings us to this week. I have done a lovely 7k run and strength work out on Monday. I ‘rested’ Tuesday, yes folks, that is the programme. I have a wee 60 minute hill run which is booked for tonight at 8pm. So that’s me so far…
As for my weight loss goals…I thought I was losing weight, and I jumped on the scales and I had lost about one gram. Bloody dissapointed. I am hoping my weight reading is in fact…MUSCLE.
yeah, right.

4 Responses to “I am such a success…I lost a gram….”

  1. Pip May 20, 2009 at 9:40 pm #

    Hey Catherine, do you mean Dave as in Creamer? If so, is he dragging you out to Belmont on Sunday? Because that would be just too much of a coincidence …

    • catherinedrew May 21, 2009 at 5:46 am #

      hi Pip. Yeah..it is Dave as in Creamer! He trained me for the coast to coast last year, so i got him for my marathon. nice guy…and yep, ive done most of the belmont (bob) duathlons…but not this Sunday…you have a good time anyway…

  2. Pip May 23, 2009 at 8:03 pm #

    Hmm. I’m not sure the weather out there is really conducive to having a good time tomorrow, but I’m not wimping out this time! It could be worse – I had entertained thoughts of dragging out my roadbike and doing the race up to Hawkins Hill. Somehow I don’t think riding up there in 120kmph winds would really be a sensible idea! I’ll mention to Dave tomorrow that I’ve come across your blog!

    • catherinedrew May 24, 2009 at 11:20 am #

      today is absolutely the worst…ummm..so no…u wont ‘enjoy’…but i guess the end will be great with a hot drink and i think a thermal blanket…

Leave a Reply

