Hot Yoga…it’s hot!

10 Jun

Yes..it really is. I started at a beginners course on Monday. A friend and I went from 4 degrees into a room heated to 31. Our instructor told us he was being easy on us by only keeping it at 31. I sat cross legged on my mat, waiting to start but in my head I had jumped up, ripped my clothes off and run screaming from the room. We began with a long ‘ommmmmmm’, and from there moved into positions while dripping sweat onto our mats and towels. I am now a fan and will return on Thursday to experience more new moves in 38degrees.
I am running consistantly, which is a goal of mine. I am being ‘good’ and following my programme. I completed my 20k on Sunday but walked from 18k. My mind suggested that I had run nearly 20k, and walking would be acceptable. My legs felt okay, I don’t know why I walked. Is my mind ‘the boss of me?’.
On Monday the plan was to get up at 5am which I did. The next part of the plan I did not follow because it involved getting dressed and heading out the door to run for 9k. But it was -0.6 degrees. I just could not do it. (O.M.G! My mind isthe boss of me!) So I did a meditation session (wrapped up in two blankets and fluffy dressing gown). I did a weights workout at the gym and a 45 min indoor training session on my bike with a few one leg spins. Man they are hard! Last night I went out for my 9k run, so I am on track for a 50k week.

4 Responses to “Hot Yoga…it’s hot!”

  1. Nades June 10, 2009 at 6:59 am #

    I’ve been going to Bikram yoga (hot yoga) for a few months now. I love it! It does take a few classes for your body to adjust to the heat so give it a couple of weeks. I learnt the hard way to make sure you eat properly and hydrate before going to a class!

  2. catherinedrew June 10, 2009 at 9:38 am #

    our instructions are to not eat for at least two hours before class…i think that is the hardest part of the whole thing! Do you feel a lot different as in more supple, since starting bikram? Is your mind clearer?…

  3. Nades June 10, 2009 at 10:37 am #

    Yep ours is the same re the 2 hours, but I have missed that timeframe a couple of times and have worked out that it is better to eat something light close to the class rather than not eat!!
    Definitely more supple and my core is definitely stronger, I can feel this esp with my running which is good. Hehee, not sure if my mind is clearer as such! Maybe it is, I have come up with some inspirational things recently as well as having some good ideas! I really relish the time out aspect of the class. I usually go twice a week, morning classes are good but more challenging as you are less supple first thing in the morning. Friday morning class here is silent yoga which is awesome for just focussing on yourself šŸ™‚

  4. Willie June 10, 2009 at 11:14 pm #

    Yoga in heat, interesting concept. Good luck with that.

    I think getting up at 5 AM is quite an accomplishment. You should get credit for that.

    Glad you’re still on track for your goal. That mind is a hard thing to get control of but you will do it. Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

