I have a ‘pig of a cold’…..

20 Jun

Call me cranky…or call me sick. This week, life has taught me to run while I can... After my 15k on Monday, (great run) chased down with a hot yoga session later that night, I had a relaxed Tuesday and a 60min hill workout on Wednesday. I love where I live for the hills…so many to choose from…just getting up to my house is a workout! Anyhoo, I was on track for a good week and then bam!;I have been hit with the ‘cold’ or what ever it is..(query, swine flu?). The headache, body ache, nose and face ache…I decided not to do my speedwork at the track..(yes..I now am the proud owner of a key to Newtown athletic track…). And I am really resting my hopes on feeling fantastic for the 22k on Sunday. I usually get over things quickly. I don’t usually become ill at all. I have been fighting this ‘thing’ off for a week or two. I have been swallowing vits, and throwing a herbal mixture of garlic, echinacia, and manuka honey down my throat since winter began. It did not ward off the evils though….
baahumbug.
I am not whinging though. This is life and I have plenty of time to train before the marathon in November.
Life is good.

3 Responses to “I have a ‘pig of a cold’…..”

  1. Rachel Harris June 20, 2009 at 8:41 am #

    Ooooh yes, they’re the same symptoms my kiddlies had. Apparently sore calves are a good sign that it’s influenza (piggy or plain old seasonal). The kids were just complaining of having sore legs and looked blankly at me when I said “But what about your CALVES?!”

    I hope you bounce back quickly (I’m not sure piggies bounce), but anyway, keep taking the supplements! Olive leaf was recommended to me as the best by a health food shop. And you can down up to 8-10 capsules initially just to try and knock it on the head.

    Take care! 🙂

  2. catherinedrew June 20, 2009 at 1:37 pm #

    I didnt know about the sore calves symptom…a few of the kids were complaining of sore legs while they were off school with a ‘cold’…last week, or was it the week before!!!
    I am determined to be better by tomorow…sunday…have the wellington half next weeknd!!!
    not whinging.

  3. Willie June 22, 2009 at 4:39 am #

    So sorry you’re sick. You’ve been training pretty hard though so maybe you need the break. Great attitude! Much better than I could have if I were sick. Love to see the hills down there, bet they are wonderful. Maybe one day.

Leave a Reply

