ugh!..instead of training I soaked in thermal springs in Hamner…

20 Jul

my bike back from hospital..an oldy but a goody...

my bike back from hospital..an oldy but a goody...

..well, someone had to!…I did not run in Christchurch, I did not run in Hamner Springs. I spent hours (with the kids and my love) soaking in the thermal springs, hours eating at restaurants and cafes, hours playing in the snow, patting strange animals, watching penguins, driving in a hogland weird antartic truck thing, and sleeping. So my training was smashed to bits with a sledgehammer, however I made myself relax and enjoy the school holiday with my family. There is no point stressing and being miserable about stuffing up a training programme is there? Tell ya what…it was difficult not to stress. I had packed my running stuff, the plan was to keep to the programme. But we were so damn busy doing touristy stuff and travelling it just did not happen. In Christchurch, I was afraid of getting lost on a run (terrible sense of direction), and it did not feel safe at night to go to hagley park. In Hamner springs…well, we were just too busy with the kids, out of the hotel door by 8 in the morning and back by 9pm…doing stuff. They loved it and frankly…so did I.
Anyhoo, that was then, this is now. I am back from holiday, today is Monday…I have my bike back…I am healthy, I am ready.
Love ya…talk later

3 Responses to “ugh!..instead of training I soaked in thermal springs in Hamner…”

  1. Nades July 20, 2009 at 8:08 am #

    Oh u should have let us know you were here I’m sure one of us could have joined you for a run so you didn’t get lost. Sounds like you had a much needed holiday tho which is good 🙂

  2. catherinedrew July 20, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

    …duh! didn’t think of that..but a great idea for next time..I’m SURE one of you will do run with me…it was perfect weather for running…but i had forgotton how flat it is…have to do a hill search..

  3. Nades July 20, 2009 at 8:19 pm #

    Trust me there are plenty of nasty hills around as well 🙂 Let us know next time you are in town!

Leave a Reply

