On flying…

10 Aug

Hmmm…well, after my victory (over myself) on Friday, with my 30k under my belt, I did my speed workout on Saturday. I was too late to get to the track so I ran around the 4k block, speeding around approx. 400meters, then recovering for a minute, and speeding again, and so forth, until home. I thought it would be a bit of a slog, but after I had warmed up, I felt like I was flying! Yeah! My legs felt strong, my breath easy and I remembered why I like running. It’s actually the flying involved on a good day.
I think the compression socks I wore to bed the day of the 30k really helped. They are medical grade, sold at Penny farthings..I have not seen them sold anywhere else.
(Anyhoo, dont ask me about my 3.5 hour bike ride followed by a 30min run on Sunday.) I had people over for dinner and I cooked up a storm from 10 in the morning. Yes, I am a geek. I love to cook for people and I do ‘slave over a hot stove’, generally bare foot, all day if we are having guests.
I have an easy week this week, beginning with a 10k run today. I have the 5bridges half marathon to do on Sunday. I am aiming for 1.53. I really am.1.50 would be better, so I will aim for that too.

3 Responses to “On flying…”

  1. Rachel Harris August 10, 2009 at 7:15 am #

    Your posts are always so refreshing. I love the way you don’t seem to sweat it if things don’t go according to a plan or schedule. Good on you girl – it’s a healthy way to manage life.

    All the VERY best for the weekend’s Half. “If it’s meant to be, it’s up to me!” 🙂

  2. Willie August 10, 2009 at 9:48 am #

    When it’s good it’s REALLY good isn’t it? Glad you had a great couple of runs. What’d you make? I’m hungry….

  3. catherinedrew August 10, 2009 at 2:59 pm #

    thanks Rachel…I have a good feeling about the half on Sunday…(hmmmmmm…..touching wood…)
    Willie, I made Khare masale ka gosht (goat meat with spices…), warm lentil and rice salad, pumpkin and chickpea salad..and Pulao…I am vegan, so the salads are meals in themselves. I didnt tell the kids or guests they were eating wild goat…but they ate the whole dish really fast..the recipe was from ‘the essential madhur jaffrey’…I LOVE indian food..oh..i also made hot flat bread to help eat the dishes with….yummy…..

Leave a Reply

