No questions answered here…

16 Aug

okay…the thing is..I ran a bit faster than my splits..but realised at about 11k, that fast people were passing me…ya know ~the smart peeps that must have started out crawling. Mostly these smart people had scottish harriers or wellington marathon club t-shirts on….
Long story short, it was an overcast still day. Perfect conditions. It was a grinding run. I had three minutes (exactly) of joy. I got to the finish at 2 hours and 3mins according to my garmin, and my garmin also reported a 22.30 distance. I spoke to a few other runners and they all said they had a slow time, and thought the course was longer than 21k. A fancy gps reported a 23k run. There were no transponders. Am I just doing the big sulk? Waaaa… Im doing another half in 3 weeks, which is always perfect distance and uses transponders.
I felt ill after finishing, headache, and faint. Mr Drew and I went to a cafe for toast and avocado, orange juice and half a coke. Then I came home and showered (bliss) and lay on the couch for two hours. Why the hell am I so tired?

4 Responses to “No questions answered here…”

  1. Rachel August 16, 2009 at 4:25 pm #

    Well THAT’S annoying! A half marathon that isn’t a half marathon! Go back and work out what your 21.1km time would have been and re-post. You’ll be able to take a good several minutes off and we’ll all bow down before you. 😀

  2. Pip August 16, 2009 at 4:32 pm #

    Yep, my Garmin said 22.30! I did press the lap button at 21.1. However my run was a miserable slog, the only positive factor being that I finished. Sigh. You looked strong on the way back though!

  3. catherinedrew August 17, 2009 at 5:41 am #

    Pip..I was looking out for you..(not on the run…i was too blerrgh..)but u were not wearing the red rose in your pocket! When deane met me not far from the finish..(he did the 10k)i started walking with him, whinging that there ‘was no point in running to the finish’, as i was over 2hrs…he kicked me up the bum and i ran to the finish….perfect day/miserable run!

  4. Willie August 17, 2009 at 6:52 am #

    You’re probably tired because you worked harder than you think you did. Maybe you were a little tired too? Anyway it doesn’t matter because you finished and are already looking forward to the next one! Love that.

    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

