Training in Gisborne….

27 Aug

Mr Drew training the fish off Gisborne main beach....

Mr Drew training the fish off Gisborne main beach....

In the last post I stated (with gusto) that I would continue my training programme while in Gisborne.
Well friends-I did not. Okay..this is how it panned out: Thursday morning I completed a 10k and we left on Thursday night. We arrived in Hastings (about half way to Gisborne) about 11pm that night and found a scuzzy motel and slept like tired babies. I did not run the following day because we travelled to Gisborne, which took another four hours. I only managed one run of 11k while in Gizzy. We ran through town, and up Kaiti hill. It was an enjoyable run as there was cloud cover, light drizzel and NO WIND!
We returned from Gisborne on Tuesday, travelling from 9am till 5pm. It’s a helluva road trip…especially with five crankys in the back of the car. Anyhoo, Wednesday saw me at the gym completing a good weights session. (My injury from the week before has completely healed, wahoo!). And last night I ran 11k in a Wellington Gale. As soon as I walked back through the door, the rain pelted down. I’m not kidding. I was in the bathroom and I heard it thundering down on the skylight windows. I ran out to the kitchen and bumped in to Deane in the hallway who had come to laugh at my good luck with me! I just think the goddess must love me.
So although the Gisborne trip mucked up the training, I still got about 47k in for that week and I will get my full training in for this week. I have a 32k run to do this weekend…am sort of looking forward to it as I have got Eckhart Tolle’s ‘a new earth’ down loaded on my Ipod. I am enjoying it immensly while I run….it’s got a great beat…

One Response to “Training in Gisborne….”

  1. Willie August 28, 2009 at 11:10 am #

    Congrats on beating the storm and don’t beat yourself up to badly about not running during the trip. Traveling that long takes a lot out of you.

    Isn’t it great when you find some new music? I’m like you, I can’t wait to get out and run with it!!! Funny.

    Beautiful picture.

Leave a Reply

