boasting a 32k run….

31 Aug

"look at me...not posing...really training...sooooo fast..."
Yes. This is me on Friday at the track. I took the camera with the goal of getting a photo of me looking fast and whippet like….errr, well I got the photo part right, not the whippet fast bit. (..So serious about it all.) Anyhoo, that day, I did 10 x400. Track work as usual, I find increasingly hard. It is intense, and I feel frustrated at how I slow down each repeat from about the third 400. Yep..that’s the point of training. I will keep on slogging.
On Saturday, my aim was to run an easy 8k, but due to me ruminating on the 32k I wanted to do on Sunday, and kids sports taking till 2.30pm (by which time I was utterly wrung out..) I ended up ‘resting’.
On Sunday morning I was up and drinking coffee by 6, dressed by 6.30 and out the door by 7am. I had to take my fuel belt as I discovered by camelbak bladder was green with mould…oops. Bit o janola will fix it and make future water taste extra special.
I also filled a small bottle with half hammer gel, half water. The hammer gel was a tad suspect as it had stood in our pantry for two years or so.
Once I tasted it, I remembered why it was there. The stuff is freak’n disgusting.
I sipped it through the run, gagging.
Anyhoo, the run progressed nicely, stomach cramps at 7.5k which happily coincided with Island bay play area toilets. The forecast for Sunday was for 140k hurricane winds. I was lucky, as I got buffeted with pissy gale force winds, which were annoying in that it hampered me hearing my ipod clearly.
Everything is relative.
I passed a few marathon training groups, a few peeps I know waved at me. I felt a bit of a dick, because, here I was, 20 or so k into my run, loaded up with fuel belt, ipod, garmin, glasses, and these peeps breezed past me..(okay..it was them that passed me..okay…)without anything..at all. Not even sunnys. All they had on were shorts, tshirts,shoes. oh… and smiles. The end. What’s with that?
I felt really good, until about 18k in, then my legs started to feel a bit tight, I thought I was going fast, but nooooooo…as usual, I was clipping along at a 8.7k(Per hour)…so I sped up.
At 29k I was still runningjogging, at decided that at 30k, I would see what I had left. At 30k I sped to a fast 10.7kph and felt great, so got to 11kph..and felt..well…I distinctly remember calling it ‘joy’.
So my last 2k of the 32k were joyful.
How unexpected.
These long runs are teaching me stuff.
gotta love it.

5 Responses to “boasting a 32k run….”

  1. Becs August 31, 2009 at 8:15 pm #

    Good one! Nicely done. The wind surely picked up later in theafternoon on Sunday! It all turned to shite as predicted 🙂

  2. Willie September 1, 2009 at 11:13 am #

    Love that you’re enjoying your long runs. They sound fabulous! Don’t sweat the minimalists, they’re just missing out on the joys of gadgets.

    10×400 is pretty intense. Good for you!

  3. ange September 2, 2009 at 6:27 am #

    Hey Catherine, after you wash and dry your camelbak bladder chunk it in the freezer, it stops bugs growing. Just make sure the water is out of the tubing or it will crack. Way to go with your run – well done. Whats on the agenda for this week training wise?

    • catherinedrew September 2, 2009 at 6:36 am #

      hey! thanks for the tip..will do. this week is enforced easy, as im off to nelson tramping for 3 days, back on monday…i have huge month working up to 100k weeks, two long runs per week etc..I’m pretty amped for the big weeks actually after talking with him. I have decided not to bike taupo, and have chucked the bike altogether to concentrate on running..feel much better about it…

  4. catherine September 2, 2009 at 6:36 am #

    ‘talking to him’ is dave, pt…

Leave a Reply

