How to run 39.2 kilometers….(yes…I did it…my longest run to date…)

28 Sep

After a week of clocking only 37k, I ran/limped in yesterday after a 39.2k! Yay me! I woke at 4am, (really 5am as daylight saving started) and then I had to wait for daylight to start breaking. I waited by eating a banana, drinking a coffee and swallowing 750mls of sports drink. I left the house feeling slightly unenthusiastic. I had a Gu in my pocket but decided to take my luck with water. I ran with gadgets, which, even though I would love to try a ‘free’ run, I simply cannot bare the idea of running out the door without them….yet.
My legs felt okay, I did not fly, but did not run ‘through mud’ at any stage. At the 9 k mark, I needed to pee, but my favourite toilet doors were locked…Whats with that Wellington City council!?!!. I wasn’t particulary busting (thank the gods!) so ran on thinking the loo’s at 17k mark would do….errrr…unfortunately, they also were locked ( what the!!??) .I continued on, thanking god for dehydration. At about 23k, and feeling like an unlocked loo would be a great thing, and a water tap so I could swallow gu would also be pretty fantastic, I found just the thing. Yay. I took my time, scooping tap water, swallowing gu (strawberry/banana) and walked/ran till my stomach told me it was okay to run again. From this point I had to fight the ‘blues’, ya know, the ‘midway-no mans land’ blues. It was funny though, because I could see objectively where my head was, why the black/blue thoughts were there. (The thoughts come and go, but I keep running.) For me, the half way point is hard.
Maybe that is not unusual. Anyhoo, I was joined by quite a lot of runners from that point who I think were coming off the mirimar circut…ummm…well I was joined with them for maybe a minute at a time as they passed me. Some had camelpaks, most had ipods. Twins sprinted past, with exactly the same caps and legs. It looked like they were drafting off one another…if I had the energy, I would have tagged on for the ride. Once at cobham drive, feeling really sad for myself, who should drive up beside me?…Yes! It was Mr Drew. He stopped the car, and offered me a seat, water, and a banana. Bliss! Just what I needed…I set off again, a much happier postive woman. I continued up back around Evans bay and up Carlton Gore road. It’s easier to run up hill after such a long time running on the flat. I cruised home and stopped the garmin at 39.2. Then I walked up the 135 stairs. Then I ate a bowl of ricebubbles and soy milk, a 750ml bottle of sports drink, a pita bread with banana and honey followed by a shower. (I stretched in the shower).
This morning I feel good, my legs feel like they have done a bit of work, but they are not stiff, my toenails are still intact and I have an 8k run to do tonight. In the rain.

9 Responses to “How to run 39.2 kilometers….(yes…I did it…my longest run to date…)”

  1. Ana-Maria September 28, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    Congrats on the run! Awesome! SO you take only one Gu during such a long run? I find that taking Gu every 40 minutes keeps my energy up. I still have a hard time eating this much in training, but during the marathon I make myself eat/drink enough so that I hopefully will never meet…THE WALL!

  2. Nades September 28, 2009 at 7:29 pm #

    Well done!!
    Am very impressed at Mr Drew for turning up in the right place at just the right time 🙂

  3. Willie September 29, 2009 at 9:31 am #

    Great run and report. You are really rocking the runs lately, I’m impressed! Here’s to good kilometers and plentiful loos

  4. Andrew October 1, 2009 at 5:54 am #

    Wow…39.2K in training! What training plan are you following? Most of them don’t have you doing more than 32K. You are a legend.

    • catherinedrew October 1, 2009 at 6:33 am #

      I have a p.t-the longest distance he’s given me is 35…but I wanted to see what 40k felt like…Im going to try again this sunday too. (btw..im not really a legend…im running scared i think…the marathon is freakin’ me…)

  5. Kate October 2, 2009 at 6:01 pm #

    Wow! 39.2 is hardcore! And I can’t believe you do it with so little food!!!

    • catherinedrew October 3, 2009 at 8:01 am #

      thanks for droppin by..and yep! i am rethinking my one gu per 4+ hour runs!!..errrr…maybe a few more might make me a bit faster????

  6. deborah1066 October 4, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    By the way, your 4am was really 3am because of DS….you really are Super Human you know!

    • catherinedrew October 4, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

      nah..it was actually 4am, i took the ds into account cos im very intelligent but not superhuman. thanks for droppin by sis.

Leave a Reply

