Last push before taper…

10 Oct

I met Dave (pt) this week, in Les Mills extreme cafe, because it was school holidays, and I had six kids in with me. They drank sugar water (blerk) which gave me time to chat with wonder boy. I have my new (and last) programme for the next few weeks till the actual marathon. I have about 2 and a half weeks of hard-out running to do, although it just does not seem enough! After that, I am tapering. Monday saw me hitting the road for a 9k, Tuesday I burned the road for a 12k, Wednesday saw me hitting the pillow early. Thursday I ran 15k in a storm. The sideways rain was whipped up good and proper by Mistress Gale…she drovethe rain, needle like-straight into my face….Tell ya what! I was soaked through and frozen. I arrived home a sodden mess about 9.30pm. Mr Drew had left a towel on the bannister and I had to strip before I got in the door. I stumbled into the shower, but had to turn the temperature to luke-warm;anything warmer was too painful.
Wild times!
The 15k storm-run, was not enough however, so Friday I went for a little 7k around the bay which once again threw teeny sharp bullets into my face. The wind stopped me in my tracks a few times throwing me back…
Running in wind like that is like running with a rope pulling a couple of car tyres. Good training huh!?
Tomorow I am going for a 30k, and then out to lunch.
It all feels not enough! How weird is that?

4 Responses to “Last push before taper…”

  1. Nades October 10, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

    Aah, I know the not enough feeling. Just have faith in the plan tho, now is the time to follow it to the letter and not do anything daft. Then you will be very well prepared for race day and can go out and enjoy it!!

    • catherinedrew October 10, 2009 at 8:42 pm #

      yep..i have to remember that I have done the work-i can add nothing now except injury from doing something dumb…(like a 39k run…). I;m planning to be ‘good’….

  2. willie October 12, 2009 at 3:47 am #

    You amazing for getting it done in weather like that! Don’t worry about the training, you’ve done all you can do and it’s enough. So excited for you!!

  3. deborah1066 October 17, 2009 at 5:31 pm #

    I agree, you’ve done what you’ve set out to do – so what else is there? Continue. Do the race. You’ll be great!

Leave a Reply

