whats with this cold?…

20 Oct

yeah..the first official day of the taper, and I woke up with a fuzzy sore head, sore throat, aching limbs and snot for Africa.
Now, the question is: should I go and run my little taper runs..or should I not? Will running improve my chances on being fit and well for the marathon, thirteen days away (gulp), or not?
I should have guessed I was coming down with something, my last long run was a sell out..I was meant to run 22, which should not have been a problem, but I only made it to 15, I couldn’t shake myself awake and lively, I couldn’t shake the black mood….
Hmmmm… I sound like a flippin’ marathon virgin…
I am trying to be confident with the training I have already accomplished. This will get me through….

3 Responses to “whats with this cold?…”

  1. Willie October 20, 2009 at 12:42 pm #

    Sorry but I love this! I’m enjoying your pain and frustration. These pre-marathon thoughts and feelings are just wonderful to read about. You are going to do so well! Try and relax, go for a run if you feel like it and rest when you don’t. No need to force anything now, it won’t do you any good. These runs are just to keep your legs and head in the zone.

    So excited for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • catherinedrew October 20, 2009 at 3:17 pm #

      ha! I’m glad u love it!..it must sound so typical…funny but today after writing the post ive been mooching around and googling..’running while sick while tapering’, and ‘symptoms colds’, etc..(which even I can see is sort of hilarious..) and I have decided that i will go for a run tonight etc..but will take it easy and walk when ever…Im gonna keep to the programme…
      thanks for your comments!

  2. deborah1066 October 22, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    Willie always dishes out his sensible advice with such wicked humour. Hope you’re over the cold thing by now. It’s going around!

    Cherio

Leave a Reply

