Training for the ‘goat’…December the 5th

7 Nov

last day of non-training
Having enjoyed a week of rest, I am about to embark on training the the goat. It is now less than one month till I am once again shimiying up rock faces,falling off outcrops, and doing a river crossing or two. From memory, there is only one major river crossing so I will begin praying for a drought around Tongariro national park. Selfish I know. We have talked Reuben, into doing it with us. He is young and strong and fit, an arborist by trade, so I have no doubt he will whip my arse completely. (I will never tell him this though…I have already started taunting him with me beating him..hahaha! whipped by an old lady huh Reubs?!!)
I will begin with an easy run around Karori sanctuary tomorow.
Anyone else up for it?

7 Responses to “Training for the ‘goat’…December the 5th”

  1. Becs November 7, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

    An ‘easy’ run around the sanctuary? Have fun 😀 One day I will be fit enough and strong enough to even think about running around that way. One day……

  2. catherinedrew November 8, 2009 at 4:33 am #

    yep..Im sure you will Becs…l’ll go for a run with you…

  3. Becs November 8, 2009 at 9:23 am #

    Awww thanks 🙂

  4. Willie November 8, 2009 at 10:10 am #

    Although I am intrigued by what “the goat” actually is, it occurs to me that I haven’t lavished any sappy praise on you for your completely awesome marathon! You ROCK! Great job and wonderful report.
    Good luck with the goat, I know they eat many things so I hope it doesn’t eat you too. Sounds like a fun time.

    • catherinedrew November 8, 2009 at 1:35 pm #

      thanks Willie..yep..i was actually waiting waiting waiting for lavish comments from you..thank god u finally did it!!!.. I really want you to google ‘the goat’ tongariro New Zealand…do it! it will tell you all about it and you may even decide to give it a go…fabulous…nuthin like a run around a volcano….

  5. lindsay November 8, 2009 at 12:54 pm #

    the goat sounds intense. after suffering through a trail run this morning i don’t know that i’d be able to handle the goat! (but it does sound like fun)

    • catherinedrew November 8, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

      the goat is fabulous….fun…scarey and everything else…and you would be able to handle it.

Leave a Reply

