Gutted re the Goat!……

12 Nov

dogs life...It feels nice to get my body back into running action after a one week holiday…the wee runs feel comfortable. I am seeing Dave, pt extraordinare on Friday for my programme until the Goat run in early December.
On a negative, slutted off note: Lovely Mr Drew told me yesterday that he would not be coming to do the goat with me. (I had booked the holiday house in Ohakune for an extra night as well, so we could all relax a bit as a family). I really love doing these hard core races with Deane. The weekends we spend doing them and training for them are fantastic, but this time- it is not to be. I am gutted! Of course, I could say I won’t do it then…(sulkily, angrily) but, that’s not me-style. I will take the kids up, Reuben and Catherine will come and we will have a great time. (I am determined!)

I find the sole responsibility of the kids , for the four days-landed squarely on my shoulders. I’m not looking forward to it as much. The shine has dimmed a bit.
Yes! I AM GUTTED!and DISSAPOINTED! (there! I said it!)
I will however get-over-it.
Deane, by the way, doubled booked himself with a team building trip to sydney with 16 of his work mates. He has to go, as he is the boss. (sometimes I hate that…as the song goes:‘what about me?..it isnt fair, I’ve had enough and I want my share)
Apologies for the neg tone friends…this too will pass…

3 Responses to “Gutted re the Goat!……”

  1. Rachel Harris November 12, 2009 at 7:14 am #

    I understand how you must be feeling. Graham has been humming and haahing about doing the Half IM and I dug my toes in and said “If you’re not doing it, then I’m not doing it!”. I too wanted to do an event ‘with him’ (even thought it wouldn’t be ‘with him’!), and I had my heart set on it. Yeah, spending time away with the kids and without your partner in crime doesn’t have the same feel to it does it.

    Make yourself feel better by putting in a Duty Free order instead. 🙂

  2. Willie November 12, 2009 at 12:49 pm #

    Sucks that he can’t go with you. BUT… It speaks volumes to your love of this sport that you’re still committed to do it! I love that! Doing it for you, or for the love of it is so much better than laying your committment on someone else’s shoulders. You should be VERY proud of yourself. I am.

  3. deborah1066 November 12, 2009 at 6:38 pm #

    No need to apologise for the “negative” tone. This is part of life. No positivity without negativitgy, no high without a low, no beauty without ugliness…you get the picture. And as you said, it too will pass.

    Fantastic that you are stil going to do the Goat.

    You’re amazing!

Leave a Reply

