the ‘not happening race’s’ and why I could’nt feel happier about it…

31 Jan

hmmm…the tussock traverse just did not happen for me. I did not get there. So no race report, no training to comment on..it’s all just…blaahhh-blerrrghh running wise. I have not been out for over two weeks now. My body feels like a cess pool of toxins and achy limbs…errggh. I am thinking of giving the famous Motatapu the flick for this year. I want to enjoy the 42 kilometers of alpine atmosphere, and as I have done NO TRAINING what-so-ever…at this point it is too late to get in form. What do you think my dear avids? I have missed about 140k of planned running. No way to make it up. If it were only a half, or I had done the race before…etc..I would consider doing it in my ‘flaccid’ state..(hahaha). But…

ON a positive note…There is NO WHERE ELSE in the world I would rather have been in the last two weeks, than where I was. I was with my Mother, sitting by her husbands hospital bedside from morning till sometimes, midnight. We sat with him and I learned the meaning of ‘being with’. I sat with him, her and later on my sister Justine. My sister and I were with him and my mother as she cradled his head in her hands as he gave his lasts breaths.  Tell ya what! This was one of the most surprisingly beautiful experiences in my life and I will never be able to translate it to understanding.

Mum, you are a ‘steadfast trooper’…this is funny folks, it was something I said as we sat by his side, and we all burst out laughing.

5 Responses to “the ‘not happening race’s’ and why I could’nt feel happier about it…”

  1. Nades January 31, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Wow, lots of hugs for you!

    Some things are more important than running and all the other stuff we do and that is one of them.

    If you want to do the Motatapu then go do it and enjoy it as a great day out and if you don’t then just chill and relax in the knowledge that you have done something beautiful for someone else 🙂

    • catherinedrew February 1, 2010 at 5:11 am #

      Yeah thanks! It definately was very important -more so than running…more vital, more meaningful, acutually it was a profoundly life changing experience. I’m glad to know it. Thanks for the hugs!

  2. AndrewENZ January 31, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    It sounds like you were where you should have been.

  3. Rachel Harris February 2, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    What a sad, but powerful experience Catherine.

    I’m sad I won’t get to sit next to you on the bus and sing bus songs as we go, but what a reason to forgo it. I agree – you were where you should have been. 🙂

    • catherinedrew February 2, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

      umm…am thinking i may actually do the motatapu..ahem…i can change my mind?…i may be able to get the kids looked after-so we can fly over-no hastle-have a sllooowwww run and take photos…and fly back. 5 weeks to train..hmmmm…..could be a bus sing-a-long..yay!!!!!

Leave a Reply

