ambivalence reigns..

10 Feb

beautiful boy...

oh..and here is my boy..12 years old and gorgous…of course I am not biased in the least!

As for running! I have done okay for the last two weeks, although I missed my long 18k on Sunday but made up for it with a 20k on Monday. I am not feeling strong, marginally fit and have no great hopes for breaking age grades for the Motatapu. Deane broke his rib falling down a slope then over the auger on Saturday (while I was at the sevens), which augmented a prior problem- ultimately landing him in hospital a couple of nights ago-so he is definitely out of contention for the Motatapu but will go as my support. I am ambivalent about the big Motatapu, on one hand-I really want to experience it, but I want to enjoy it too. I dont want to feel as crap as I did for the ‘goat’. (I am hoping the bad goat run can be put down to the marathon three weeks before…) I want to do my potential ‘best’ but havn’t done the amount of work needed to do my ‘best’. Hmmm…maybe it’s all blah-de-blah, and I should just do it!  I hate it when my head is jumbled like this. All I need is a gut decision.

oh..Ijust cant help myself can I??...

5 Responses to “ambivalence reigns..”

  1. AndrewENZ February 10, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

    Good luck with whatever you decide.

  2. Pip February 10, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    Run it! Run it because you can, and enjoy the opportunity to be there, in that beautiful place. So perhaps you won’t do as well as you could have if your build up and situation were perfect. So what? You have a great opportunity now make the most of it!

    Er, lecture over …

    • catherinedrew February 11, 2010 at 6:30 am #

      OMG!!!THANKYOU!!!! okay..thats it…im positively gunno do this..enjoy it..it’s all okay…you rock…

  3. Willie February 11, 2010 at 3:08 am #

    DO IT!!
    You’ll do great and I bet you’ll enjoy it too. Take in the adventure.
    Be sure to share it with us sometime too.

  4. nad-ya February 11, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    I don’t want to be a downer, but I have had a few crap races in my time because I wasn’t really that amped by them.

    But I think if you go into it with low expectaitions and just out there to enjoy the day, you’ll have a great day. Just about attitude at the start line I think.

Leave a Reply

