A decision as good as any other,and don’t eat the blackberrys….

13 Feb

Yes..it IS a woman’s perogative to change her mind. I am (once again) not doing the Mota-bloody-tapu. The clincher was, the nearly two thousand dollar airfare to get us both there, via Christchurch, flying 2.5 hours each way! The extraordinary cost for a domestic flight  feels so wrong…especially for a run I have not trained for and Mr D cant even do.

This year so far is not in good shape. Two race’s I have not done. Hmmm, luckily it is early on and there is time for big improvement. I went for a run around the perimeter fence of Karori sanctuary. It was not a good run. I walked a fair bit through the two foresty downhill sections as it was pretty slippery. My gps shows the run is 9k, but I think it is longer because the gps loose’s sattilite through the bush sections. Anyone know exactly? (Gosh, yeah-I’d really love it if someone told me it was 15k…wahoo…). During the run, I listened to classical music, met a black goat (white hooves) and I scared a bunny. I also got massively scratched by blackberry when I hid in some deep thicket to have a pee…(do not eat the blackberrys..)

9 Responses to “A decision as good as any other,and don’t eat the blackberrys….”

  1. Becs February 13, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    haha thanks for the warning about the blackberries! You guys doing the gutbuster this year?? 😀

    • catherinedrew February 14, 2010 at 6:26 am #

      yeah..i think the kids will again…maybe I will now..alll options are open..will def be doing the mt lowry ..what about you?

      • Becs February 15, 2010 at 8:49 am #

        Not sure. Maybe. It’s been something on my ‘to do’ list for a few years….maybe this year I will actually be up for it! Mt lowry?? hmmm how’s that one? I have looked at it that’s for sure!! 😀

  2. Justine February 14, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    awww its okay you coming over for the Captain Cooks tho aye…eazy for you and fuuuunnnn!

    • catherinedrew February 14, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

      yeah…gosh..must book it..i also wantto go tramping with ya…

  3. Justine February 15, 2010 at 7:30 am #

    April, we going up Tapanuku, out of Blenheim, look it up….will be a challenge x

    • catherinedrew February 15, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

      im up for a challenge..ill buy some good trampin boots…more possum thingos and can i use lou’s old pack again???

      • Justine February 17, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

        yep Lous pack, i got a new possum hat and gloves now to add to the sox….savin up for the jumpa!!

  4. catherinedrew February 18, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    whao man! go easy on those pesky possums!!..yah..gonna get me a new jumper too…i may have to let deane wear his this year!

Leave a Reply

