Victorious!!..(ish)

2 Mar

Okay..the time has arrived..again..that much dreaded time when I weigh myself. I honestly was going to do it today, but on contemplating the Oh! so accurate digital scales; (while munching my third tablespoon teaspoon of pics peanut butter) my decision was to weigh in tomorow morning. I will let you know.  I ran a dismal 5k last night, but I was so triumphant as it edged me over (by a  few meters) into my second thousand kilometers of running. I have been recording my ‘kay-idge’ since July 27th last year. Oh my God! I felt so victorious tapping the k’s into my ‘I JUST RAN’ gadget..seeing it tick over to 1000.06kilometers. My goal is now to make it 1000MILES.  So I have about..errrr…360k to go.  I also  put my age and marathon time into this age grade calculator and I come up with 71 percent which means I am a good ‘regional’ marathon competitor….would this be the ‘region’ of my street?…hahaha.  I also calculated my 5k time, and well..yes…it come’s up with 51%, which means, basically, I am somewhat 5k errr…’ challenged’. Reading the stats, actually gives me the impetus to try harder. I will get a better 5k time..and I will aim to get 80% in my next marathon time. Here I come…errr..’regionals’…Im gonna beat your little regionally ass…yes-sir-reee….

10 Responses to “Victorious!!..(ish)”

  1. Rachel Harris March 2, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    Darn it, I’ve never been so disciplined to record kilometres run – I only ever go by time. What a milestone – well done, that’s very cool!!

    That looks like a very intriguing age grade calculator. If only I wasn’t so nervous as to open it up and give it a whirl. Maybe tomorrow. Or the next day.

    • catherinedrew March 3, 2010 at 4:58 am #

      yeah..anyhoo…you are still too young to be age-graded…that’s for old (cringe) peeps llike errrr…me…
      Dont open it till….um…..later…mucho later

  2. Neets March 2, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    Fantastic work Catherine. That’s a huge number. I bet it looked so daunting to begin with. All credit to you for sticking with it, undeterred (other than the usual ups and downs I suspect you faced like most people).

    I’ve got to ask what it is about Nutella covered ice-cream. That sounds so revolting. Still, I don’t like Nutella so I was never going to get excited over the *idea*.

    Congrats. More power to you!

    • catherinedrew March 3, 2010 at 4:52 am #

      OH! I wish I didnt have a ‘thing’ for nutella…i really wish…

  3. Becs March 2, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

    You are my hero for having done the gutbuster (nothing to do with this post I know – sorry!). I biked up that first bit just past the scout hall this morning, and promptly fell off about 3 times haha! It definitely would bust my gut to run it! What a pity I am rostered on to work that day! 😉

    • catherinedrew March 3, 2010 at 4:56 am #

      hey..what?! I am your ‘HERO’??? well….thanks…That bit past the scout hall..depending on whcih way you were going..is damn hard..I cant bellieve you powered a bike there…amazing also that you survived three (let alone one!) fall!!..you are MY hero..
      I am going to borrow my boys mtb one day and try and bike it. should be fun as I have never done any mountain biking in my life…will I love it???or will i die??? watch this space…

      • Becs March 3, 2010 at 7:25 am #

        Um……you have never done any mountain biking in your life?? Let me know which day you are attempting that! (yep running up there would be………er….. heroic…or maybe silly?? ha ha 😉 )

  4. AndrewENZ March 3, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    I love that Pics peanut butter as well.

  5. catherinedrew March 3, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    becs..umm…is that so you can come out and laugh at moi??!!..if so -U ARE ON!!…nothin like a good laugh…ugly laughing even better…

  6. Becs March 3, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    It is so I can help you when you a** off!!! 😀 (oh and maybe laugh a little/lot, when you tip over on the steepish bits!) It’s not far from me, so I will probably hear you screaming anyway 😛

Leave a Reply

