the egg with legs whinges again…

9 Mar

 I go for a run..but it max’s out at 7 or 8k. My legs feel weak and skinny…skinny with a bit of flab. I am sure my stomach is a tad..err…stomachier…I am beginning to look like my childhood nick name..(lovingly given to me by my brother)…‘egg with legs..’.  Hmmm…what to do? So, I still have not weighed myself for this month..I am (cheatingly) waiting till I feel a bit lighter. I have been clear of pic’s peanut butter for ONE WHOLE day, and not a smooth, creamy, teasingly sweet spoon of golden syrup icecream has passed by my lips. I have ripped my training programme for the Motatapu off the wall, and replaced it with my training programme for the Auckland marathon..(an eon away). The ‘training’ comprises of me running an average of 64kilometers per week until 4 months out from the actual marathon-then I will write myself a new programme. I have been studying up on marathon training and coupled with the programme Dave-wonderful-pt gave me last year, I am sure I have the right idea for me. I will do one long run per week, a long run being anywhere from 28-35k.

I have the Mt Lowry coming up this month-I am not expecting to do very well..(gosh..cos I am usually such a STAR). I am going to grit-my-teeth and enjoy it anyway. Nothing like a good climb and vomit to clear away the cobwebs.

6 Responses to “the egg with legs whinges again…”

  1. Rachel Harris March 9, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    Ha ha, the “Egg with legs”… that’s so.. ahem… not nice. 😀 I used to be called “Big Malumba”. Scarred for life I am.

    I’m going to miss you this weekend. 😦

    • catherinedrew March 9, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

      yeah..I’m going to miss you too. You will love it so much you will do it next year too and I will be there then..singing/bus/smiling etc. Have a good race!

  2. Becs March 9, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    Vomiting up Mt Lowry? 😦 mmmm think I am busy that weekend after all 😉

    • catherinedrew March 9, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

      Nah…you are not busy..remember? we cyber shook on it..you-mt lowry;me-mtbiking up karori…see you then. bring your sick bag.

  3. brigbee March 16, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    Ah Mt Lowry – a classic RTYP (run till you puke) event! That said, good on you for picking it as an interim goal. While you’re running the ups and downs of the Auckland course you’ll be able to think back to Mt Lowry and KNOW that it could be a lot harder! Good luck with the programme 🙂

    • catherinedrew March 17, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

      you sound experienced a-la-Mt Lowry! Thankyou for the luck!

Leave a Reply

