The constant runner, olympic dreams dashed.

10 Apr

I have booked myself in for a bootcamp experience. A friend  talked me into it-nah, it didn’t take much talking. So, with my lack of ability to give myself a good boot up the proverbial-I will pay someone else to do it. Bring it on mean man. Boot camp starts April 19th, 9am and continues for four weeks, three times per week. I’ll let ya know, of course, how I’m doing. After my exceedingly slow Mt Lowry race, I have been consistent with my running, averaging four runs per week. Two of the four are truly pathetic distances-but even they help. I did a lovely ten k this morning on another perfect Wellington morning. I did not run yesterday, as I cooked all day for a couple who I had never met before, (Boeuf bourguignon, vegan pie, celeriac/potato mash, sautéed spinach, pumpkin and chickpea salad, and white bean puree. This was followed by chocolate mousse with hazelnut toffee).  The couple ate and regaled us with great stories from their recent African trip..’trip’ as in: yeah! that sounds like a great idea, lets travel across Africa via public transport! (No planes involved.)   I did however, have a small run the day before and another pathetic small run the day before that. The one before that was a reasonable 9k. Oh, by the way, the man who came to dinner had also run the Boston marathon in a time of two hours and 31minutes at the age of 40. He had other sick making marathon time experiences. (sigh). Go him!.    I have entered the Auckland marathon again. I will be aiming for a time of..no, not two hours and 32 minutes, but four hours and hmmm…maybe ten minutes??? Bring it (gulp) on. I am such a middle aged house wife. I have realised I am never going to be an Olympian. ..but wait!…

5 Responses to “The constant runner, olympic dreams dashed.”

  1. Neets April 10, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    Hi Catherine. What are you hoping to get out of the Boot Camp? Just curious. I’m not sure I’m brave enough to be yelled at 😉 I’d blubber which would result in unwanted attention – of the worst kind. Excellent news about the Auckland Half Marathon. You go girl!

  2. catherinedrew April 10, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    hi..boot camp is going to give me the ‘push’ and inspiration I cant seem to give myself. It will give me a set programme, I will start to lose a bit of weight-which will carry over as I launch into my Auckland marathon training..the full marathon btw!!!. :-D.
    May be I will cry-dunno..will let ya know…Ive never done a boot camp thing before,,

    • Becs April 11, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

      Who is running the boot camp? It’s not the hot brazilian guy is it??? 😉

      • catherinedrew April 12, 2010 at 5:50 am #

        dunno if he’s hot, but its the pulse training group…im pretty sure we’ll all be hot after they have finished with us…wanna do it

  3. Becs April 12, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    Nah it’s all good thanks 🙂 I don’t need anyone to boot me about 😛

Leave a Reply

