the truth about my body

29 Apr

Gosh yes. I went for a ‘body audit’…you heard right! Body audit..roll that around in your mind. So, the truth about my body is…(gulp)..am I really going to do this…put my stats on the internet for the cogination of all five of my readers..(hi mum)…and the answer to that rhetorical question is..yes! why yes-I-am! I did the body audit so I could have a base point to blast off from. I wanted to know the true condition of my errrm..45 year old body. It is my birthday next week. Do the math. This is a midlife crisis. We started off with my weight which stubbornly refuses to budge from 67kg. sigh. (The solution for that of course is: a weights programme that I will begin next week.) Now, here is the worst news about my tubby body….I have an overall body fat % of 30. This is in the acceptable range but even surprise’s (and saddens) me. The answer to this of course is..weight training. Magic. I feel so inwardly chubby now I have a chubby number. The trainer (a slim twenty something) kept telling my how small I was…..small but fat? Anyhoo, moving on from the fat story. My total muscle mass is 44kg of my total weight. It measures how much each arm,leg and torso weighs then adds it all up. I now know my right arm weighs 2.3kg. I’m not sure what to do with that information. Hmmmm. Guess what my torso weighs?..yeh..25.4kg.  The programme rates my physique as  a ‘5’, meaning ‘average muscle and body fat’. I would like to be a ‘6’ which is ‘high muscle and average body fat’. That is now my goal…to be a 6. I need 1403 calories to just survive…if i just sit around and watch t.v. My metabolic age in years is 36…(wow…nearly ten years younger than my actual!!!..I like this number). My body is 51% water. (I need to drink more…wine?) And I need a minimum of 1.7liters of water to drink. My visceral fat is “5”  which is smack bang in the middle of the healthy level. The levels go up to 20, 1-13 being healthy and anything over that is ‘excess’.  I have a bone mass of 2.4kg which is good.

Do ya want some measurements? Well, Im gonna give them to you, this will inspire me to change them. Here goes: Chest: 94.1 (whoa! dolly!), waist:77.6, low abs:95.5 Hips:106.5..sigh…and my left thigh is 62.5, right thigh is 63.5, right calf is 34cm and left calf is the weaker twin being 33.5.  How am I holding up folks. This is not in inches by the way…we do not do INCHES…(wouldn’t that be a totally different story?).

Anyway. That’s the physical me. A few things are going to change around here, primarily my body splat percentages.

By the way, the fourth day of boot camp was so tough I wanted to hurl. Love it.

14 Responses to “the truth about my body”

  1. nad-ya April 29, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    How the heack to they measure a body part. i have a image in my mind of you lying on the floor and sticking out a arm/leg on a scale 🙂

    • Neets April 29, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

      Or like a mannequin where you can just juggle the arm a but and it pops out 😉

    • catherinedrew April 29, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

      ha! thats funny…you jump on a scale and hold some handle’s. but lying on the floor and sticking limbs out would be so much more fun…

  2. Bec April 29, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    HOw do they measure your visceral fat? Do they cut you open? 😉 Ohhhhh I am so glad I am NOT doing that boot camp!

    • catherinedrew April 29, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

      yeh…they are a mean boot camp all right!! im cut to pieces..especially when they had to check out the fat around my heart…scarey stuff man…

      • Bec April 30, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

        Yeh so seriously…how DO they measure your visceral fat?

      • catherinedrew May 1, 2010 at 8:13 am #

        seriously, its a machine you stand on and you hold handles and ta-daaaa…everything is done. bellieve it.

  3. Neets April 29, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    Good on you Catherine. That can’t have been easy to blurt out all the stats when you’re not comfortable with some of them.

    Isn’t it awful that small people can still have a good deal of fat. I don’t think I want to know what my stats are right now.

    I was meaning to ask how you came to find the Boot Camp you’re doing.

    • catherinedrew April 29, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

      thanks…the truth is a good thing especially when im uncomfortable with it…numbers can be worked out…I found out about the boot camp via a friend who did it..she’s doing it again. Its with a wellington group called ‘pulse’…they have a studio on the terrace…they run three diff bootcamps on mon, weds, and friday at 6 then 7 then 9am. Im with the 9am group…we are the old good looking group.

  4. catherinedrew April 29, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    what the hell does ‘cogination’ mean??? what the hell was i trying to say…

  5. elaine April 29, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    ….cogination…to think deeply…lotsa numbers Catherine….but….do you feel well …do you function well….I like to think so ??? x

    • catherinedrew April 30, 2010 at 6:52 am #

      it’s about being the best i can be..not to just function but function at my bestest..ever…

  6. Justinian April 29, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    isn’t your head the heaviest part of a body…did they weigh that??? huh huh…then you could give a measurement to the most important muscle mass…(is it muscle??..why does it weigh so much??) maybe your head is so heavy with all that ‘brain’, thats whats makin you halucinate you are fat??? ever thought a that? (am i being complementive?) its worth thinkin about (smiley face)

    • catherinedrew April 30, 2010 at 6:53 am #

      yeh! yu must be right jay…most of tht fat must have been my brain,,,omg…a fat brain

Leave a Reply

