My conclusion about bootcamp…

18 May

serious sequins..just right for a work out

Okay. So. The grande finale of boot camp and my buddy and I turned up dressed to improve. I wore red and pink with a weeny gold sparkly top, buddy wore green and blue with a multi coloured sparkly top. No..the personal trainers were not expecting anybody to arrive dressed to the tens. Other ‘combatants’ were arriving giving us quizzical looks and wondering if they had missed the ‘lets get dressed up’ email. Anyhoo, the final day consisted of a fitness test to see how much we had improved. Here are my stats, (bated breath..): Beep test, first week was 7.6 and..ta daaaa..second beep test was 7.6. I actually stopped there because (apart from wanting to hurl), I thought I had only got to 7.2 the first time, so 7.6 was an improvement. I got it wrong. However, the other reason I stopped is, my first result was classified ‘superior’ anyway. What the hell can be better than ‘superior’??? ( Next time I wont stop. I realize a ‘superior 8.blahblah is better..).

From the beep test (hate hate) we did the ‘how many press ups can you do in 60 seconds’ thang. I got to ….31 full followed by 7 knee press ups. (The first time was 24 full/8 half-good improvement). Then I completed 83 situps (crunch) in 60 seconds, a big change from the 38 the first time). Last but, by no means least was prone hold (plank). The goal is to hold this position for 2 minutes. The first time I got to 1.22 before folding, this time folks, I got to 2 minutes and everyone else dropped but I kept up. I wanted to see what I could do you see. I looked up and one chick is also holding out. We got to 2.30, we looked at each other, poked out our tongues and kept holding. The group was urging us on..I told my (now) ‘competition’ that I was ‘gonna drop at 3’, fully planning to whip her ass and keep holding. Long story short, I made it to 3 minutes 2 seconds and collapsed and ‘that’ chick kept on for four minutes. She broke and we applauded her. (I told her I wasn’t really trying.)

Tell ya what! Boot camp was a blast. I will do it again, it has amped my training for the half in June, and cooks landing in July. I am definately fitter and stronger. I still have not reached my ‘fitness ceiling’, (if there is one). I attempting to find it…the ceiling.

Feelin’ good…I will write more about my training for the Wellington half marathon next post. See ya then.x

7 Responses to “My conclusion about bootcamp…”

  1. Pip May 18, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    I’ve really enjoyed reading about your boot camp adventures! I’m hoping Duck will set up her own boot camp at some point, though she’s so busy with individual clients and our Jog Squad that I’m not sure how likely that is.

    For the record, I once held a hover for four minutes, though I’m not quite sure my form was optimal at the end of it. There may have been one or two f words uttered enroute.

    I’ve decided not to run the half even though I think I could train up in time. I just really don’t like that event! I’m going to do the 10k and then run the Wairarapa Country Half in October.

    • catherinedrew May 18, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

      thanks pip! yeah, I’d be in if the duck set one up too. tell her. good for you with a four minute plank-my legs were wobbly and sore after 3! Are you talking about the great forest/wairarapa half???

  2. Willie May 19, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    So very awesome! Great job and congrats on your improvements. The outfits were a nice touch too.

  3. Bec May 19, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    Yo machine-woman! You are awesome as! Well done…..you would whip my butt in a plank holding comp any day! 🙂 See you on that start line in June I hope!

    • catherinedrew May 19, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

      hopefully I;ll see you before the start line twinny….

      • Bec May 20, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

        Actually so do I!!!!

  4. Pip May 29, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    I’m going to do the Wairarapa Country Half, which is a road race leaving from Masterton. It has a couple of climbs in it and is very rural and scenic, small and friendly.

Leave a Reply

