half training for the Wellington half

26 May

hmmm….last week I clocked up 38k, which is obviously not gonna get me smashing that ‘Everest’ of mine..ya know…2 hours. Even by 5 minutes would be good…anyhoo. Yesterday I scrammed outta the house at 8pmish. I was soaked within three seconds. I love that dense rain, with not so much as a breeze. This morning the plan was to do a ten k trial. I had to start at 5.30, to be sure of being home by 7am…(had to get shorter people up etc). Anyhoo, into the black morn I jogged, picking it up into a run…I felt good, quite powerful, till my stomach started cramping up…so the run turned into a crawl, run, crawl, run, and I gave up, thus only 8k. On the positive side-it was so goood to be out early. I had forgotten how lovely that time of the morning was-no matter what the weather. Am planning on a 45k week. I still have not made it to the gym for a weights workout. Wish me luck.

6 Responses to “half training for the Wellington half”

  1. Lisa May 26, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    My BIG plan/goal after Rotorua was to try and run a 1:55 half marathon (I have no idea how other people run 1:40ish half marathons … one day, maybe). My stupid sore leg is stopping me training properly so my bottom lip is sticking out right now. Anyway … we’ll probably be unknowingly running beside each other! LOL

    • catherinedrew May 27, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

      that would be fun…if Im on goal for a 1.55 half..I’ll be asking all women running close to me…are you lisa? are you Lisa? etc…

  2. Bec May 26, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    LUCK!!!

  3. Bec May 27, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    Oh and you will smash that time đŸ˜€ Absolutely smash it. Trust me. I know.

    • catherinedrew May 27, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

      Awwwsooommeee..I belieeevveee you. I know you know-everything. specially with u running beside me.

  4. Elliott Casillas June 2, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    Really great read. Honestly..

Leave a Reply

