two weeks after the record breaking half marathon..

11 Jul

Yes folks, I did break my two hour half marathon Everest! I conquered it with a 1.58.36 fabulous time. I got to half way with my speedy young pacer at a scorching 55 minutes and continued on-in pain-but I did it. And voila! – here I am training for my next race which is Saturday the 17th of this month. Yes, in a mere six days I will be slogging my heart out on the Queen Charlotte track. I will be meeting my sister in Picton and catching the race ferry with her. I am totally prepared for a fabulous weekend away. We are staying at Fernaux lodge on Saturday night, ahh, bliss. The race is called ‘Cooks landing’. I havn’t done it before. My sister talked me into it-(didnt take much).

6 Responses to “two weeks after the record breaking half marathon..”

  1. Pip July 11, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    Congrats on your great half marathon time and good luck with the Captain Cook run. Have you done Queen Charlotte before? It starts with a pretty gnarly climb, then a downhill, then another good, solid but slightly smaller climb, then it’s trail running (well, I walked it) heaven from there. Have a great time!

    • catherinedrew July 11, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

      OH thank you! NO, I havn’t had the pleasure of doing the queen charlotte before. Thanks for the heads up about the gnarly start! I love these runs that start with climbs, like the tussock traverse..a very good fun way to warm up…ha!

  2. Neets July 11, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    I was nervous for you as you know Catherine. Sneaky you entering with a name I didn’t know to search. You did such a sterling job with the 1/2.

    I’m keen to hear your RR on the Cooks Landing. It’s a run I’ve had my eye on before. Hopefully one day I’ll get to run it myself. Enjoy – oh, that goes without saying 🙂

    • catherinedrew July 11, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

      Thank you so much for being nervous for me-you must have known how gutted I’d be if i did over 2 hours (again again again etc).And I promise to write a rr much faster than the half. I am planning to take my camera with me so you can check it out to (if all goes well)…

  3. Bec July 12, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    You are a whippet! A grehound finely tuned! 🙂 You know you are my hero 😛

    • catherinedrew July 12, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

      you are far too kind becs. far too kind. p.s if i’m a whippet so are you

Leave a Reply

